Convenient Options for Texas Driver’s Ed Online

The American Safety Council®, a nationwide leader in transportation and workplace safety solutions, offers driver’s education courses in Texas through the easy-to-use web portal TexasDrivingSchool.com. The three different courses, all of which are affordable and conveniently online, include the following:

All of the Texas driver’s ed courses are approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TLDR) and can be completed on any device with 24/7 customer support. Here’s an overview of each course:

Self-Taught Online Driver’s Ed Course

The Texas online driving course is self-taught and can be taken at your convenience. While it’s state-approved, there’s no approval process, and you can take the course at your own speed.

Here’s how the online teen driver’s ed course works:

  • It is available for Texans between the ages of 14–17. Students 14 years old can complete the first module but cannot move past that until turning 15.
  • The course covers safety driving habits and teaches how to obey traffic laws.
  • After taking the permit exam, you will receive a Texas Driver’s Education Certificate in the mail. That certificate and other needed documentation must be presented at your local Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) office.

A parent or guardian must be present when you present your certificate at the DPS office.

When am I eligible to apply for a permit?

Students wishing to apply for a learner’s permit must be:

  • 15 years old
  • Have completed the first module of either the online parent-taught or self-taught courses

For those taking the parent-taught course, the option of purchasing and taking the learner’s permit exam online is available. The Texas Online Driver’s Ed course includes the learner’s permit exam within the program.

What forms do I need to apply for a learner’s permit?

When applying for a permit in person at the DPS office, a student needs:

  • Certificate of Completion for Module 1 (DE-964E Certificate)
  • Driver Education Affidavit (DL-90A)
  • Classroom Instruction Log (DL-91A)
  • Verification of Enrollment
  • Documents proving residency and proper identification

How will I receive my certificate at the end of the training?

After completing the course through TexasDrivingSchool.com, students receive the certificate for free in the mail. Certificates arrive 5–7 business days after submission. Student who completed the parent-taught course receive a downloadable certificate at the end of the course.

Am I eligible to take an online driver’s ed course?

Teenage Texas residents between the ages of 14–17 are eligible for the online driver’s ed course. Students 14 years old may begin the online course and complete the first module, which lasts six hours. A student must be 15 years old to advance past the first module and earn a learner’s permit.

How long does the online driver’s ed course take to complete?

The online driver’s ed course in Texas lasts 32 hours, which is the state minimum of required classroom instruction. Students have 180 days from the time of registration to complete the online course.

When am I able to begin the online driver’s ed course?

Students can begin the online course immediately after registration.

Parent-Taught Online Course

The Texas Department of Public Safety allows driver’s education to be completed outside of the classroom by a state-approved parent or other guardian. The Parent-Taught Driver’s Education (PTDE) course helps students and parents connect on the important topics of driving safety and ensures approved adult guidance for the required amount of driving hours.

Here’s how the parent-taught course works:

Teens between the age of 14–17 are eligible. 14-year old students can take the first online module, which lasts six hours, but they can't get a learner’s permit. A student must be 15 to advance past the opening module and get a learner’s permit.

A qualified adult teaches the student according to the state’s Parent-Taught Driver’s Education packet. The approved instructor provides detailed support to instill safe, defensive driving habits.

The course is 100% online and consists of 32 hours of classroom instruction, 44 hours of driving instruction, 10 of which must come at night.

Once you have your handbook and a PTDE packet, you can immediately begin the course and work toward earning a Texas driver’s license.

Who Is Eligible to Be an Instructor?

Qualified parents or legal guardians are eligible to teach the course. But it’s not just for parents. The following are eligible to teach the parent-taught drivers ed course:

  • Stepparent
  • Grandparent
  • Step-grandparent
  • Foster parent

A potential instructor must also meet the following criteria:

  • Must have held a valid driver’s license for the past three years (individuals who lived outside Texas during any part of the last three years must present a certified abstract driving record from their former state when the student applies for a license)
  • Cannot have had their driver’s license suspended or revoked during the previous three-year period
  • Must not have six points on their driving record
  • Cannot have a prior conviction for Driving Under the Influence or Driving While Intoxicated or have received a probated sentence for those crimes or Criminally Negligent Homicide
  • Must not be disabled due to mental illness

Upon completing the parent-taught course, you will have fulfilled Texas requirements for behind-the-wheel and classroom training.

Am I eligible to take a parent-taught driver’s ed course?

Parent-taught driver’s ed in Texas is available to students between the ages of 14–17 who can be taught at home under the supervision of a qualified parent or legal guardian. Students 14 years of age are eligible to complete the first module of this course. Once the student turns 15, they are eligible to continue the course and apply for a learner’s permit.

Is my parent eligible to be a driver’s ed instructor?

The following relationships to a driver’s ed student are acceptable to be eligible to teach the course: parent, stepparent, grandparent, step-grandparent, foster parent or legal guardian. An adult with power of attorney is not sufficient. No other relative than those listed is permitted as an instructor.

In order to be an eligible instructor, a parent must:

  • Have held a valid driver’s license for the past three years (individuals who lived outside Texas during any part of the last three years must bring the certified abstract driving record from their former state when the student applies for a license)
  • Have not had their driver’s license suspended or revoked in the past three years
  • Have fewer than six points on their driving record
  • Have no Driving Under the Influence or Driving While Intoxicated convictions or have received a probated sentence for DWI, DUI or Criminally Negligent Homicide

Instructors who are not sure if they meet the requirements should check their criminal record and driving record before signing up. If the TDLR determines a parent/guardian is ineligible to be an instructor, none of the instruction will count and the student will not be issued a license.

This course is approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation and fulfills requirements for driver’s education in Texas. The Parent-taught option is an alternative to classroom instruction and can be completed at your own pace, in the comfort of your own home and under the guidance of a qualified parent, grandparent or legal guardian.

How do I complete a parent-taught drivers education course?

Parent-taught drivers education begins with a parent or legal guardian completing the Parent-Taught Driver Education (PTDE) packet from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). Once a student receives their packet and reviews all of the materials, the student can begin the online driver’s ed course.

After a student finishes the first unit and is at least 15 years old, they can apply for a learner’s permit. To apply for a learner’s permit, the student and parent/legal guardian must bring all appropriate forms and documentation to the Texas Department of Public Safety office. This information is included in the PTDE packet along with all of the necessary forms and the instructions needed to correctly complete them.

How do I get my PTDE packet?

There are two ways to request a PTDE packet:

Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation
PO Box 12157
Austin, TX 78711-2157

How long is the Parent-Taught Driver’s Education course?

The parent-taught course requires 32 hours of online instruction. It takes six hours to complete the first module. A student cannot apply for a learner’s permit until they have completed the first module. Within three days of completing the first module, a student receives a permit qualification certificate to take to the DMV when applying for a permit.

Family With Teenage Children In Car On Road Trip

Texas Driver’s License for Adults

The American Safety Council offers an easy and effective way for adults aged 18 and older who are getting their driver’s license for the first time.

For Adults Aged 18–24

If you’re between ages 18 and 24 and have never had a driver’s license in Texas, you are required to approve a TDLR-approved course.

  • The course is 100% online and can be taken on any device.
  • Course material is displayed in a user-friendly format and is easy to navigate.
  • You can start and stop the course, completing it at your own pace.

For 25 and Older

The course for adults 25 and older is voluntary for adults but is recommended for drivers applying for a license for the first time. It covers the following:

  • Motor vehicle basics and rules of the road
  • Car safety features
  • Texas traffic laws
  • Tips to avoid accidents

Those who complete the adult driver’s ed course aren’t required to take a written rules test at the DPS office. The adult education courses provided by the American Safety Council on TexasDrivingSchool.com make it easier than ever for Texans to earn their driver’s license.

How To Get a Driver’s License

Once you’ve successfully earned a learner’s permit, then you’re ready to pursue a Texas driver’s license. Here is the process to take full control of the wheel:

  • Make an appointment at the DPS office and successfully pass the road test
  • Present your certificate of completion for the driving school and Impact Texas Teen Driving program
  • If parent-taught: identification documents and proof of school enrollment
  • Proof of Texas registration and documents explaining that the student does not own the vehicle

If you’re younger than 18, you will receive a Texas Provisional License, which is vertical and expires when you turn 18.

Find Affordable and Convenient Driver’s Ed

The driver’s ed courses—both for teens and adults—offered by TexasDrivingSchool.com have no hidden fees. And we offer a money-back guarantee if you aren’t able to make the course work for you.

Whether you’re a teen learning the rules of the road in our parent-taught course or going it alone with our self-taught online option, taking our education courses allows you to take the state-approved courses you need on your terms. For teenagers and adults alike, TexasDrivingSchool.com offers an adult driving course to get you out on the road.

Sources:

Texas Dept. of Safety: www.dps.texas.gov/DriverLicense/ApplyforLicense.htm

Texas DPS: www.dps.texas.gov/internetforms/Forms/DL-7.pdf