When you’re done and everything is submitted, you can check your driving record to ensure all of the documents were received and accurately applied. In many cases, you won’t be able to remove the violation from your driving record completely, but the driving course does provide a credit or point reduction to your record.
What’s at Stake?
No matter the county you live in, a traffic citation in Florida can cost hundreds of dollars. Add on top of that increases in your auto insurance payments and points on your driver’s license. Attending a Florida defensive driving school will allow you to block those points, save money and stay on the road.
Here’s what’s at stake if you decide against spending four hours taking a state-approved course:
Traffic Fines and Penalties
In Florida, traffic fines vary depending on which county you received the citation. The severity of the violation determines the cost of the ticket, and you may also need to pay surcharges. If you accumulate many points on your record within a 12-month period, the state may impose further penalties, such as suspending your license.
Removing License Points
Completing a BDI course may help you to reduce or eliminate points from your driving record. Keeping points off your license can prevent your car insurance rate from increasing. In Florida, you must notify the court you are pursuing this option within 30 days of receiving the traffic ticket.
Other Considerations for Florida Drivers
Here are some other common topics about violations and whether or not they relate to completing a defensive driving course:
Driving Under the Influence
Defensive driving does not soften the penalties handed out by DWI or DUI convictions. In Florida, under-the-influence offenders must attend a 12-hour school. Other penalties may include:
- Fine varying from $500–$1,000
- Community service
- Probation and possibly imprisonment
- License suspension/revocation
Defensive driving education does not remove parking tickets or any non-moving violations.
A defensive driving course does not apply if a driver has a violation while driving a commercial vehicle.
Taking the Right Florida Driving Course
The American Safety Council has offered defensive driving education in Florida since 2000 and offers courses in all 50 of the United States. Here are quick descriptions of the safe driving programs offered nationwide by the American Safety Council:
This course is for students who were issued a traffic ticket or were ordered to participate by a court of law.
Insurance Reduction Courses
Florida drivers can save money on insurance rates by passing this course. This is particularly useful for drivers 55 years or older because passing this course freezes an insurance rate for three years.
Suspended License Courses
If you have had your driver’s license revoked or suspended, taking this course can help you have your license reinstated.
First-Time Driver (Driver’s Education)
This course teaches students everything needed to earn a Florida driver’s license. New drivers can earn a learner’s permit and learn the basics of defensive driving. Taking this course has been proven to reduce the risk of automobile crashes by first-time drivers.
One Click to Register for the Florida Defensive Driving Course
Since creating the first state-approved online traffic school, the American Safety Council has stood at the forefront of interactive delivery of driver education.
Taking a Florida defensive driving course through the American Safety Council can save you money, fulfill your legal obligations as a motorist in good standing and improve your driving skills. For one low cost, you can register for the four-hour course and keep your foot on the gas.